My thoughts on X-Men: apocalypse… 


Hello Everyone! 

9cd1d469-93ac-4806-8d70-86610a707a46I’m back his time with my thoughts on the most recent X-Men movie. And yes. I know it came out a while ago but this way I can talk about it without having to be careful about spoilers. But just in case, I will be talking about spoilers so… Spoiler Alert! 

Now let’s us talk X-Men. Yay! The movie came out on the last weekend of May, I believe and I went to watch it two times and truth be told, the part I was most excited about was Oscar Isaac as Apocalypse… And I know I’m not the only one who was excited about that. And I honestly believe that he did a great job with what he was given, which wasn’t that much but his acting was great! A little more could have been done in the writing department to make him more menacing as he is suppose to be. I remember watching Apocalypse in the X-Men: The Animated Series from the 90s and he was scary. Big, blue and scary. And his powers, I never really understood what his powers were… 

Moving on, I like that they brought Moira back. That was great! 

I also really loved that they are bring Scott Summers back and maybe, just maybe they can get him right this time, unlike with the original trilogy where they just pushed him aside and that sucked. I really do hope that they do the character justice. Here’s me hoping. And Jean… Where do we start with her? They are sort of doing the same thing that they did with the original trilogy of Jean and The Phoenix Force being the same when they are not. Jean and The Phoenix Force are two different entities and I really don’t understand why they don’t get that. Before Jean became one with The Phoenix Force she was not thattumblr_lksm7iWDa71qfaf4lo1_500 powerful! Some might even say she was weakest in the team. All hope that they might do a great movie about The Phoenix Saga and The Dark Phoenix Saga is all gone… Honestly. At least I still have the 90s series where they at least did those two great storylines justice. Honestly, watch the animated series of you haven’t. It was much better than the movies. Okay. I’ll stop with that now before I start ranting. Let’s move on to something else. 

253941-x-men-apocalypseI found it a little silly how Charles lost his hair, I always wondered how that happened but come on. That was silly. Also, that Wolverine scene was awesome but really out of place. It just didn’t really feel like it fit there but people love Wolverine so they just find a way to throw him in there. But I’ll admit, that scene was much much better that the whole X-Men Origins: Wolverine. A lot better. Just a little out of place. 

tumblr_nz98qglec21tyc7rko2_500Ororo (Storm) was nice. Her accent was great though I must say, I didn’t like that it was Apocalypse who made her hair white. I didn’t like that, it’s kind of growing on me the more I think about it but still… That’s what makes her stand out. That and her blue eyes. But over all, Ororo was great! 

Angel and Psylocke didn’t really do much for me. I was expecting Angel to be badass Archangel from the comics but that’s definitely not what we got. Truth be told, I don’t really know what we got and Psylocke… I didn’t really care much about her in the movie. She could have been better and that’s all I’m going to say. 

tumblr_o67fwyCiP61uwl6nzo2_500Moving on to great things, Erik. His story was amazing and heartbreaking. While watching those scenes with him as his family it really gave some serious comic vibes (I’ll touch on that when I do my post for this version of Erik) and it was simply great! They did a good job with this character…. In my opinion at least. 

tumblr_o87yfpaS7R1qe3p9bo4_500Peter’s reintroduction was nice. They took something that people absolutely adored from Days of Future Past and did it in a bigger scale and I liked it. I absolutely loved the fact that they finally said he is actually Erik’s son. You guys have no idea how happy that made me and I love how he tells Raven, that scene was really funny. Something that I didn’t understand was why didn’t he tell Erik he was his son, things could have been more interesting… I really thought this was a missed opportunity but oh well, maybe in the next film.

So what did you guys think of X-Men: Apocalypse? Let me know down in the comments below or send me tweet. 

Thanks for reading! Don’t forget to follow me on social media. 

@BeforePhoenix

Leave a Reply

