Epic History: X-Men Volume I


Hello Everyone!

JGStormIn my previous post (Epic History: X-Men) I told you guys about a a series of documentaries that I discovered about the X-Men and is this post I’m going to review Epic History: X-Men Volume I, 60s Era. 

The first volume in this series of documentaries main focus is the first years of the X-Men and how the period of time in which they were created parallels with the characters and the story. Something that I’ve always known about the X-Men (and mutants) is that they are a product of their time and by that I mean that due to the fact that they first appeared in the 60s a lot of the issues of the time are translated in a way into the comics. The mutants have always faced the problem of society not accepting them simply because of who they are and that is a struggle we continue to see even to this day. 

tumblr_nhqeyhPYAx1t0igjoo10_1280I found Volume I to be great! I must admit that I was never a big fan of the X-Men growing up so I really didn’t know much about them. It was only recently that I decided to learn more about them, I even watched X-Men Evolution and Wolverine & the X-Menbefore I went to watch X-Men: Apocalypse. Anyways, most of the things I knew from this Marvel group was from the movies and to be honest, I’ve never been a fan of them; though the new trilogy got my attention unlike the original, so I really didn’t know much about them but now I do. 

tumblr_m4zmee9xKk1qdu8auIn Volume I you learn about the original group which consisted on Scott Summer, Jean Grey, Hank McCoy, Bobby Drake and Warren Worthington III and that surprised me because here was no Ororo Munroe (Storm) or Logan/James Howlett (Wolverine) and that surprised me. A lot! 

Anyways, I don’t want to say much about what Volume I is about because I really think you guys should watch it, especially if you are a fan of the X-Men. I’m certain you will enjoy the it and will probably learn a few things… I know I did. I learned a lot. 

Thanks for reading! Don’t forget to follow me on social media. 

@BeforePhoenix

Leave a Reply

